Taking payments

Ways to take card and online payments as a small business. Payment links, card readers and invoice payments, with real costs.

Tools for this

Our pick for you

FreeAgent

£19/mo

UK sole traders and small limited companies, especially NatWest/RBS/Mettle customers (free).

Not for: US businesses, or firms with complex inventory and many staff.

Free plan30-day trialNot tested by us yetUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on freeagent.comVisit FreeAgent (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Sole trader £19/mo ex VAT (£9.50 for first 6 months); Partnership/LLP £27; Limited company £33. Free with NatWest/RBS/Ulster Bank business account (or Mettle, conditions). 30-day trial.

Our pick for you

Xero

$27/mo

UK trades businesses (MTD-ready) and small firms wanting unlimited users.

Not for: Very small US businesses whose bookkeeper only uses QuickBooks.

Not tested by us yetUSUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on xero.comVisit Xero (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

US: Early $27/mo regular ($5.40 promo 80% off first 3 months), Growing $59, Established $97. UK: Ignite £18, Grow £39, Comprehensive £55, Ultimate £70 ex VAT (90% off first 6 months promo). No per-user fees. 'Get one month free' offer, no formal trial described.

Our pick for you

Powered Now

£28/mo

UK sole traders and small trade firms wanting quotes, invoices and certificates on mobile.

Not for: US businesses or large teams needing dispatch.

14-day trialNot tested by us yetUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on powerednow.comVisit Powered Now (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Business £28/mo ex VAT, 1 user (£280/yr annual). Professional £32/user/mo, Premium £40/user/mo. 14-day trial, no card.

Our pick for you

ServiceM8

$29/mo

iPhone-centric small teams who want pay-by-job-volume pricing with unlimited users.

Not for: High-volume businesses doing hundreds of jobs a month on a tight budget, or Android-only teams.

Free plan14-day trialNot tested by us yetUSUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on servicem8.comVisit ServiceM8 (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Free plan: 1 user, 30 jobs/mo. Starter $29/mo (unlimited users, 50 jobs/mo); Growing $79 (150 jobs); Premium $149 (500); Premium Plus $349 (1500+). Priced by jobs, not users. Prices in USD on US page. ServiceM8 Phone add-on from $19/mo.

Our pick for you

QuickBooks Online

$38/mo

US businesses wanting the accounting standard most bookkeepers and FSM apps integrate with.

Not for: Owners who only need invoices and don't want full bookkeeping.

30-day trialNot tested by us yetUSUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on quickbooks.intuit.comVisit QuickBooks Online (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Simple Start regular $38/mo (1 user), shown at $19/mo with 50% off for 3 months. Essentials $85, Plus $140, Advanced $340 regular. 30-day free trial mentioned. US page; UK pricing differs.

Our pick for you

Jobber

$49/mo

Owner-operators and small crews who want quoting, scheduling, invoicing and payments in one easy app.

Not for: Large multi-location operations needing deep dispatch, pricebook and payroll features.

14-day trialNot tested by us yetUSUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on getjobber.comVisit Jobber (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Core plan, 1 user, $49/mo with no commitment; $39/mo with 1-year commitment; $29/mo billed annually. Extra users $29/mo each. Connect from $139/mo, Grow from $199/mo (monthly, 1 user). Trial is of Grow plan, no card. 16+ users: contact sales.

Our pick for you

Square

$49/mo

Solo operators wanting free invoicing, estimates and card taking with no monthly fee.

Not for: Teams needing full job scheduling and dispatch.

Free planNot tested by us yetUSUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on squareup.comVisit Square (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Paid plans are charged per location. Square Free $0/mo includes invoices, estimates, booking. Square Plus $49/mo per location, Premium $149/mo per location. US fees: online 2.9% + 30¢; in-person 2.6% + 15¢ (Free); ACH via invoice 1%, $1 min ($10 cap on Plus). Trial length shown as an unrendered placeholder. US page; UK pricing differs.

Our pick for you

Moneypenny

On request

UK businesses wanting a premium, established live answering service.

Not for: Budget-conscious sole traders wanting transparent self-serve pricing.

Not tested by us yetUKUS

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on moneypenny.comVisit Moneypenny (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

UK pricing page shows no prices, only a contact form/phone line; services include telephone answering, AI receptionist, appointment booking, payment taking.

Our pick for you

Podium

On request

Established local businesses wanting reviews, webchat, texting and payments under one inbox.

Not for: Solo trades on a tight budget wanting self-serve pricing.

Not tested by us yetUS

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on podium.comVisit Podium (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

No prices published: 'talk to our sales team for details'. AI Employee add-on available on any plan.

Our pick for you

ServiceTitan

On request

Established residential/commercial HVAC, plumbing and electrical contractors with dispatchers and office staff.

Not for: Solo operators and small crews; cost and setup are heavy for under ~10 techs.

Not tested by us yetUS

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on servicetitan.comVisit ServiceTitan (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

No prices published. Plans Starter, Essentials, The Works each show 'Request Pricing'; page says pricing is based on number of technicians. Free demo only, no trial.

Our pick for you

Stripe Invoicing

No monthly fee

Tech-comfortable businesses wanting pay-per-use invoicing and online payments.

Not for: Owners wanting an all-in-one app with scheduling and accounting.

Not tested by us yetUSUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on stripe.comVisit Stripe Invoicing (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

No monthly fee: Starter 0.4% per paid invoice; Plus 0.5% (adds quotes). Stripe Payments processing applies on top (UK: 1.5% + 20p standard UK cards, from stripe.com/gb/pricing; US card rate was not readable on stripe.com/us/pricing). startingPrice 0 = no subscription, not a free tier.

Our pick for you

Acuity Scheduling

$20/mo

Appointment-style services (cleaning, inspections) wanting branded online booking with deposits.

Not for: Multi-crew field service with routing and job management.

7-day trialNot tested by us yetUSUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on acuityscheduling.comVisit Acuity Scheduling (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Starter $20/mo billed monthly ($16 billed annually), 1 calendar; Standard $34 ($27), up to 6; Premium $61 ($49), up to 36. Labels inferred from 'Pay annually Save 20%' toggle. 7-day trial, no card. Taxes extra.

Our pick for you

Housecall Pro

$79/mo

US home-service teams of 1-8 who want an all-in-one app with built-in marketing and review tools.

Not for: UK businesses, or large shops needing enterprise-grade dispatch.

14-day trialNot tested by us yetUS

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on housecallpro.comVisit Housecall Pro (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Basic plan, 1 user: $79/mo shown alongside $59/mo billed annually (page toggle Annual/Monthly; monthly figure not explicitly labelled). Essentials $189/$149 (5 users), Max $329/$299 (8 users, +$35/user). Promo intro offers also shown. Trial gives MAX plan, no card.

Our pick for you

Broadly

$399/mo

Local service businesses wanting done-for-you reviews, webchat and marketing.

Not for: Budget-conscious solo operators.

Not tested by us yetUS

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on broadly.comVisit Broadly (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Standard $399/mo billed monthly + $350 onboarding (FAQ contradicts: 'no setup fees'). Pro $699, Premium $999. Reputation AI from $79/mo standalone. Trial not stated.

Our pick for you

Workiz

On request

Small US service companies that want job management with a built-in phone system.

Not for: Buyers who want transparent self-serve pricing, or UK businesses.

7-day trialNot tested by us yetUS

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on workiz.comVisit Workiz (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

No prices shown: Standard, Pro, Ultimate all 'Request pricing'. FAQ: 7-day free trial, no card; annual plans discounted ('save $400+'). Currency/unit not stated.

Our pick for you

Commusoft

See site

UK heating, plumbing and electrical firms with office staff managing servicing and certificates.

Not for: Solo tradespeople wanting a cheap self-serve app.

Not tested by us yetUK

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on commusoft.comVisit Commusoft (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Pricing page not retrievable: commusoft.co.uk/pricing redirects to commusoft.com/en-gb/pricing/ which returned HTTP 404 on 2026-10-08. No vendor price verified. (Third-party listings suggest per-user pricing; not used.)

Our pick for you

Fergus

See site

Plumbing and electrical businesses with up to ~10 staff wanting job costing and quoting.

Not for: Larger firms (10+ staff) wanting published pricing, or non-trade service businesses.

14-day trialNot tested by us yetUKUS

Price checked 8 Oct 2026 on fergus.comVisit Fergus (opens in a new tab)

Pricing details

Basic shown as 'From $53 ... per month' next to '$5.30' under a 'Get 90% off til December' banner; Professional 'From $75' ($7.50). Same '$' figures shown on the /en-gb/ page, so currency is UNCLEAR (no code shown). Per-user vs per-account not stated. Monthly only, no yearly plans. Enterprise 10+ staff: contact. Price withheld: currency unclear on the pricing page.

Articles

Related